Reviews

7.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
6.1
Property location
8.3
Facilities
6.1
Staff
7.7
Value
6.9

Reviews

    Paloma
    jp

    Review score

    5.4
    14 September 2018

    Fake information on website

    We tried calling and emailed in the evening that we would arrive late because of a car problem and asked until what time they could keep the door open. They did not answer, but we did not decide to book and extra room in another hotel in case because we checked that on the website it said "24h reception". However when we arrived, tired, around 12:30, the door was closed, and there was no way to contact them, until we came back at 8AM next morning and they said that closing times are closing time and it was our fault for not arriving before 10pm. They did not refund, and although we were allowed to take a shower and checkout between 8:30~10AM we did not get our values' worth while their website contained fake information.
    Yiping
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    12 September 2018
    I didn’t find the bath room, as I only stay for two nights, so I didn’t ask
    I like the grandma
    Marta
    es

    Review score

    6.2
    12 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Martín
    es

    Review score

    10
    3 September 2018

    Cheap but not for everyone....

    The loud noises from outside and bed from 1908. Toilet and shower very small.
    The original 1908' deco, friendly pensioners that manage the place. Location was perfect to start hiking from Ribes. I think the owners put a lot in to the place, but i can see why people would downrate the place (it is obvious) as at times its like going into a time machine. I simply have to grade them high, based on their commitment at their age.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    3 September 2018
    Close to train station , lovely lady at reception and overall it was fine.
    Niels
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    24 August 2018
    The location is great and the lady helping us was really helpful and nice.
    C Emmett
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    10 August 2018
    Lovely, cosy, quirky little pension. Comfortable and perfectly situated.
    Nigel M.H.
    es

    Review score

    8.8
    19 July 2018
    Well, things change don't they? I remember my first visit there in February 1998. It was all but full as it was in the middle of the ski season. My girlfriend and I got the last available room, one without an en-suite shower, for just 2000 pesetas, or 12 euros. If you came back late, in order to get in, you had to wake up the old lady who was sleeping just above the top entrance. The prices now have reached those of similarly economic options in the area. The food was always very good there but recently I haven't seen many people eating in the restaurant. These days people need gimmicks and expect more of an effort to be made to capture the tourists and compete with other establishments. It was never like that and this was part of its charm. It may start to change now that it is on Booking.com and well, just as a result of the general way things are going now. Aye, times have changed.
    I've been staying at the Fonda Vilalta on my sporadic visits to the Pyrenees for the last twenty years. It feels a little like home from home and I know the staff quite well now, I see them almost as friends that I go to visit.
    Paula
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    16 February 2018

    Really enjoyed it!!

    We would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
    It was great especially the friendly welcome we received even when turning up just before 22.00. It was spotlessly clean and we loved the fact it was authentic and had character!
    es

    Review score

    2.5
    11 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nataliya
    es

    Review score

    9.2
    5 December 2017

    Night in the museum

    I'd like the price to be lower for an individual traveller who is ready to share a room with somebody. A lady (I am not sure she is a member of staff or just a neighbour), who helped me with communication with the hostess and told me about rules of staying, wasn't very friendly, but it didn't mar my impression about this place.
    It was my good fortune to spend a night in the museum! I have seen such rooms only in old films and never thought that they can really exist nowadays. The furniture made of wood, a cross above the bed. All the furniture and atmosphere is saturated with antiquity and history and I even felt a little bit embarrassed to touch it. An old stove and marble tables downstairs made me feel as if I got a century ago. Unfortunately the hostess didn't speak English and I don't understand Spanish, but nevertheless I managed to learn many interesting things from her (thanks to google translate). She was very friendly, kind and helpful.
    Kerstin
    es

    Review score

    10
    24 November 2017

    It is a great place to stay - I will definitely return to this pension ! Em va agradar moltissim :)

    I liked a lot how I got treated - extremely friendly personal, very helpful, very friendly. There is nothing negative to say. Location: great - 10min by foot from train station and near to Cremallera.
    chris
    es

    Review score

    8.8
    10 November 2017
    It was a long walk to the loo especially in the middle of the night.
    Hotel Vilalta was by far the cheapest in the area which allowed me to stay an extra few days. I would really recommend staying there to anybody English speaking as another of its strong points is that gives you an opportunity to see a traditional type of accomodation with a very friendly host that has lived in the house her whole life. We had some nice chats and really enjoyed her home cooking. By the way Ribes de Freser is the most friendly town I have ever been in...everyone seems to say hello.
    MAZEN
    es

    Review score

    4.2
    4 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Glenn
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    1 September 2017

    Harry Potter's boarding school comes to Catalonia. It is a practical place. No nonsense.

    The hallways are dark. With LED lighting, however, they could be lit all the time for an extreme minimum of cost. Even less than the fluorescent bulbs that are only on when turned on by wall switch.
    The owner lady was nice. I liked how practical the place is, sort of like the time of President Hoover. The bedpost, furniture and flooring are straight out the late 20's. The place is immaculately clean.
    Igone
    es

    Review score

    2.9
    24 August 2017

    olor rancio en un hotel que necesita una buena reforma

    The hotel is very old. It is not confortable. The smell is very strange. So we decided not to take neither dinner no breakfast there
    Nothing at all
    Fco Javier
    es

    Review score

    7.1
    9 August 2017

    normal for the price

    One of the beds had the mattres too soft
    R&H
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    8 August 2017

    Good value for money and a good experience

    We wanted to leave a bag with the hostel (for two days) in order to go trekking in the mountains. Unfortunately this was not possible, but understandable.
    It is a traditional guesthouse run by two pensioners. They were very accommodating. The rooms are basic, but very clean and well looked after. Would definitely stay again.
    NOA
    il

    Review score

    8.8
    6 August 2017
    the toilet and shower were pretty far away from the room (actually got lost twice during my stay)
    The place was very quiet and relaxed, a private room at a very good price
    Mª José
    es

    Review score

    5.0
    12 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews